Power Guide for Successful Library Advocacy

Friends Groups: Critical Support for School Libraries (PDF, 66 kb), by Sally Gardner Reed, Executive Director, United for Libraries, is a free toolkit geared toward school librarians looking to create a Friends group of parents, faculty, and community members and/or a Student Friends Group.

Become informed.

In today’s changing economy the need for creative thinking, problem-solving, and information literacy skills is growing. The "Parent Outreach Toolkit" from the American Library Association will show you how you can help your child succeed in this changing global economy.

Visit your local school library.

Before you go find a list of things to look for at "What Parents Should Know".

Advocate for your school library.

Survive and Thrive! An advocacy toolkit for school librarians. On this site you will find ideas on how to spread the word to your community about all the ways school libraries impact students' education. The Utah State school library curriculum also incorporates workforce skills and 21st century skills and many of the ideas here will be useful.

Please Say "Thanks!"

Although our proposal to add $500,000 to the "School Library Books and Electronic Resources" line item balance of $550,000 was not funded in the 2014 Legislative Session, there are a number of legislators who gave strong support to our cause. Please thank them for their support and efforts. Senators and representatives have commented that school library people are among the very few who say "Thanks." Expressing gratitude is easy. Just copy and paste the email addresses given below in a block, into your email addressee line. We suggest you use the BCC, or "blind" copy line, because it seems more personal when only one name will appear on each email.
Those loyal legislators are:
Representative Tim Cosgrove, our #1 hero, along with, especially, Representative Steve Handy and Senator Patricia Jones, and Representatives Joel Briscoe, Kraig Powell, Jim Nielson, Carol Spackman Moss, Francis Gibson, Michael Kennedy, LaVar Christensen, David Lifferth, and Senators Steve Urquhart, Aaron Osmond, Daniel Thatcher, Mark Madsen, Stuart Adams, and Lyle Hillyard.
Please thank them for their support.

tcosgrove@le.utah.gov; jsadams@le.utah.gov; jbriscoe@le.utah.gov; lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov; fgibson@le.utah.gov; stevehandy@le.utah.gov;lhillyard@le.utah.gov; pjones@le.utah.gov; mikekennedy@le.utah.gov;dliffe­­rth@le.utah.gov; mmadsen@le.utah.gov; csmoss@le.utah.gov; jimnielson@le.utah.gov; aosmond@le.utah.gov; kraigpowell@le.utah.gov; dthatcher@le.utah.gov; surquhart@le.utah.gov

Contact legislators who help fund school library programs.

Public Education Appropriations Subcommittee


Senator Howard A. Stephenson, Senate Chair
1038 E 13590 S
Draper, UT 84020
hstephenson@le.utah.gov

Representative Bradley G. Last, House Chair
1194 S 180 W
Hurricane, UT 84737
blast@le.utah.gov

Representatvie Steve Eliason, House Vice Chair
8157 S Grambling Way
Sandy, UT 84094
seliason@le.utah.gov

Senator J. Stuart Adams
3271 E 1875 N
Layton, UT 84040
jsadams@le.utah.gov

Senator Lyle W. Hillyard
595 S Riverwoods Parkway, Ste 100
Logan, UT 84321
lhillyard@le.utah.gov

Senator Patricia W. Jones
4571 Sycamore Dr.
Salt Lake City, UT 84117
pjones@le.utah.gov

Senator Mark B. Madsen
1304 North Redwood Road, #321
Saratoga Springs, UT 84045
mmadsen@le.utah.gov

Senator Aaron Osmond
11466 Country Knoll Road
South Jordan, UT 84095
aosmond@le.utah.gov

Senator Daniel W. Thatcher
6352 W City Vistas Way
West Valley City, UT 84128
dthatcher@le.utah.gov

Senator Stephen H. Urquhart
634 E 1100 S
St. George, UT 84790
surquhart@le.utah.gov

Representative Stephen Handy
1355 E 625 N
Layton, UT 84040
stevehandy@le.utah.gov

Representative Joel Briscoe
1124 E 600 S
Salt Lake City, UT 84102
jbriscoe@le.utah.gov

Representative Carol Spackman Moss
2712 E Kelly Lane
Salt Lake City, UT 84117
csmoss@le.utah.gov

Representative LaVar Christensen
12308 S Raleigh Court
Draper, UT 84020
lavarchristensen@le.utah.gov

Representative Francis D. Gibson
208 S 680 W
Mapleton, UT 84664
fgibson@le.utah.gov

Representative Michael S. Kennedy
659 E 200 N
Alpine, UT 84004
mikekennedy@le.utah.gov

Representative David E. Lifferth
8782 N Pinehurst Dr.
Eagle Mountain, UT 84005
dlifferth@le.utah.gov

Representative Jim Nielson
331 E 1900 S
Bountiful, UT 84010
jimnielson@le.utah.gov

Representative Kraig Powell
943 E 530 N
Heber City, UT 84032
kraigpowell@le.utah.gov


































































































































.
...